top of page
Search

The Back To Work Funk

Who knew I would be experiencing the back to work funk... Although I loved my new quarantine routine I started to gain control over my Asthma and decided it would be a good idea for me to go back to work. With our ENT procedures minimized I felt it would be a lower risk to my health. It was a very bittersweet decision, on one hand, I had come accustomed to this new life but on the other hand, I wanted to be back at work... if only I could do both... maybe one day =]



The night before I was to be back the thought of (here we go again another life change) set in.. it made me a bit uneasy. I started to question my decision, especially at this time the stay home order was extended a few more months but I am the person who sticks to her word and I had already had given my commitment. The first day back in scrubs and wearing a mask going over schedules and handling patients made me miss my home. Who freaking knew this could happen to me?!? I honestly started quarantine hating the fact I was home and It's not that I don't like working because I do maybe even a little too much at times. But I had it... I had the back to work blues... and it was hitting me hard!!




I continued to question my whole career ... Like maybe I only feel this way because I am meant to do something else... But what?!? and maybe I am really not happy I just didn't notice before because I just kept pushing through. These thoughts have been spinning in my mind the last few months but dealing with the work funk just seemed to highlight them even more. I knew I had to change the way I was thinking... Sometimes it's just so easy to get caught up in the pitty party mood. So, I began to tell myself that I am not a quitter, that even if I change my career path it is okay. See I noticed that a lot of my thoughts again were coming from a place of what society deems is right and proper. Nothing on earth is set in stone unless you set it. Change that career ... Hell, keep changing it until you find a place you are most happy and fulfilled. Society doesn't live YOUR life so don't let it deem what is right or wrong for YOU. I made a promise to myself to not live in fear of how others see me but to solely care about how I view myself! It is okay to question WHERE you are or WHAT your next chapters in life are but nevertheless don't lose sight of WHO you are!

Life is about the balance of hard work, dedication, passion, and play

That being said... I decided I had to make an intentional choice to snap my funky self back to life and back into the swing of things. I brought the things to work that made me happy like my favorite pens (nurses you know you have your favorite pens) or drinking from my favorite water bottle. It is the little things in life that tend to bring me so much joy, haha and instead of allowing myself to leave the house feeling funky I sat to pray and remind myself of my passions in life which are helping people... hence why I choose the medical field in the first place. I also challenged myself to continue the new healthy habits I have learned during quarantine and merge them however I can back into my work life. We all have those self-doubt days that negativity loves to feed on. Please don't get discouraged, if you don't like it... change it.. and keep changing it until you find something that works for you! And Always continue to work on it! trust me, I still am =]


Subscribe to be notified of when the next blog is out!!





She talked to GOD daily and that is what made her lovely ♥



Update --- THA FUNK BE GONE!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page